An Experiment (A Short Facebook-Cut-and-Paste Play)

31 Plays in 31 Days #13

(This play is composed entirely of snippets of text from friends’ Facebook walls. To construct it, I went to my random-order friends page, and clicked on each friend in turn, found an applicable text [or snippet of text] for the next line of dialogue or stage direction on their wall, and proceeded until I reached something like a completed storyline.) 2pm

(I apologize if anyone feels robbed for me using their Facebook posts wholesale. I claim fair use? And friendly intent?)

(Scene: at the fair.)

ETA
What’s that saying, good friend vs. great friend vis-a-vis burying or hiding bodies? How does that one go?

RHO
Cute.

ETA
Today I am feeling blessed because of the wonderful people that I have in my life.

RHO
Hint hint…

ETA
No, really.

RHO
It’ll all work out, stop worrying.

ETA
Speaking of friends who are crazy carny folk…

(RHO says nothing.)

ETA
Apparently that is too much to ask.

RHO
Saving up bail money?
$25,000 in less than 24 hours?

ETA
Need to kick this into high gear.

RHO
You’re a murderer.

ETA
Try and focus on the long term.

RHO
Fuck this.

ETA
Any small contribution would be appreciated…

RHO
Don’t fight with desinty. It will kick your ass.

ETA
I shouldn’t be surprised.

RHO
Where ya goin dude? That burger shack ain’t gonna be your salvation buddy.

ETA
Arghhhh!!!!
When is salvation?

RHO
How much bodily harm are you willing to subject yourself to?

ETA
I ain’t got no dough.

RHO
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

ETA
Best of luck to you.
Hope it works out for the very best.

RHO
We tried…

ETA
Crush my illusions…

RHO
-1 for passive-aggression.

ETA


Forgive me.
Please

RHO
…Close enough.

(End of play.)

writing time: way too long, but mostly because I got distracted looking at Facebook

One comment

  1. […] in a dystopian society Came from an actual dream I had that turned into a full-length play 13) An Experiment – a play assembled from Facebook statuses Came from not knowing what else to do and thinking this […]

Share Your Thoughts

